One of the most interesting monuments of the «Ternopil Castles» reserve isYazlivets Castle, a unique complex that has been formed as a result of several construction periods. The castle consists of two parts, which are the old fortress tower of the 14th century, Verkhniy Zamok (the Upper Castle), and the elegant palace of the 18lh century, Nyzhniy Zamok (the Lower Castle). Both parts of the castle are decorated with impressive portals, which are decorated in the Renaissance style and have been well preserved until our days.
The castle is built in a very favorable and picturesque and picturesque place. It stands on the elongated hill, which is washed by the Vilhovets River (a tributary of the Strypa River) from the three sides. Thus, the castle was well protected by steep slopes of the hill, the access to which was additionally hindered by the river. The first castle was constructed at the end of the 14th century by Princes Buchatskiy, who settled in Yazlivets. The Buchatskiy arranged the castle as their primary residence, and gradually the representatives of this line of the family began to be called Princes Yazlivetskiy. First, the castle occupied about the half of the modern area of the upper castle, and its key element was the stout gate tower, which has survived until today.
In the 15th century, the Upper Castle was expanded to its present size. From the eastern side one more yard was added, encircled with defensive walls and towers. Between the two yards, there was a residential palace building, which was the residence of Princes Yazlivetskiy. The palace had a throughout arch, which connected the castle courtyards. In 1607, the male line of Yazlivetskiy family ended and the castle became the property of the last owners’ sisters. In 1643, the castle was purchased by the Hetman of Crown Stanislaw Konietspolskiy, and the new construction period began. It lasted more than ten years and was over in the time of Stanislaw’s son, Oleksandr Konietspolskiy. In accordance with the new fortification reguirements the’Upper Castle was fortified by a multi-tiered half-round bastion. The main result of this construction period was the erection of a new buildings, which is the Lower Castle. At first the Lower Castle was an additionally line of defense for the Upper Castle. At the foot of the ancient walls, more bastions with casemates, and walls with towers and bulwarks appeared. All these measures saved Yazlivets Castle from being captured during the national liberation war of Ukrainian people in 1648 – 1657. However, during the Polish-Turkish War of 1672- 1676, the Turks managed to break through the defense of Yazlivets Castle for several times.
In 1745, the castle became the property of Stanislaw Poniatovskiy, who was the father of the Polish king Stanislaw II August Poniatovskiy. The new owner rebuilt the Lower Castle considerably, turning it into an elegant palace, and the Upper Castle began to decline gradually. The palace was a three-storied U-shaped building that has survived to our days. Behind the palace, they arranged a park. In 1863, the owners gave the castle to Martselina Darovska who was seeking for a place to establish the monastery with permission from the Pope. So Yazlivets Castle became the monastery of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary, where a school for girls worked until World War II. After the war, a health resort facility was located in the palace, and in the 1990s, it was a monastery again, and today the health resort and the monastery are sharing one building.