Sokyryntsi Estate is a gem of Ukrainian Classicism architecture of the early 19 th century.
A yew alley takes visitors from the gate to the palace building through the park. In front of the palace, there lies a picturesque lawn with flower beds. The front facade is decorated with a portico with the colonnade. The spherical dome crowns the roof of the palace. Above the porch and along the central part of the facade stretches the balcony-terrace, where they served meals and tea in summer.
Another side of the palace faces the broad lawn that opens on to the lake. This facade of the palace is also decorated with columns, and it looks even more solemn due to the elegant rampant, which people used to come out of the ball room, located in the second floor, and take a walk near the lake. The lower part of the rampant is wider, and on either side of it there are pedestals with statues of Roman goddesses Ceres and Juno. Due to such «foot» the palace has a very majestic appearance.
The founders of Sokyryntsi Estate and its owners until the 1917 revolution were landowners by the name of Galagan and their heirs, the Lamsdorf-Galagans. After the revolution, the palace housed an agricultural college, which still operates there. Almost nothing has been preserved from the past luxury of furniture and palace interiors. Only the fragments of stucco columns and niches in the ballroom, which has been converted to an assembly hall, have survived up to nowadays. However, there are excursions around the estate arranged for the tourists, during which they can see archive photos depicting life in the mansion during its heyday, and providing particular details on the lives of its former owners.
Ignatiy Galagan, who was a colonel of the Zaporizhyan Cossack army and the right-hand man of Ivan Mazepa, founded the Galagan family. For his military merits, Colonel Galagan received local lands into his possession and founded Sokyryntsi family estate. During the Northern War, Ignatiy Galagan was among the Cossack elites, who did not support the decision of Ivan Mazepa to back the Swedes. So when in 1709 Petro I ordered to destroy the hetman’s capital, Baturyn, Colonel Galagan helped him to conquer Baturyn fortress, as he knew well the system of its fortifications, and the proportion of defending for various parts of it. The Cossacks were massacred cruelly, and according to a legend, the dying warriors pronounced a curse on Galagan himself and the seven generations of his family. It happened so that the family line ended when the seventh descendant of Galagan, Pavlo Hryhorovych Galagan, died in young age.
The colonel’s son, Georgiy Gnatovych Galagan, built the first wooden house in the estate, and one generation later, at the end of the 19th century, there appeared a church with a family tomb and a theater where serfs acted, which was extremely popular among local landowners. In 1826, Pavlo Hryhorovych Galagan constructed the present-day palace by the project of the architect P. Dubrovskiy. The park was laid down at the same time.
In the park, which is now in a very bad condition, other estate buildings have been preserved. Among them are stables, a greenhouse, an arboryro-tunda, and a Gothic-style bridge smothering with shrubs.