Velikiy Liubin is a balneological resort that attracts people wishing to improve their health with curative mineral waters. The healing springs of Velikiy Liubin have been widely known since the 16th century, and their popularity was at its height in the 19th century, when the resort village has been purchased by a talented entrepreneur, Baron Kostiantyn Brunytskiy. The Baron made his wealth by oil extraction near the town of Boryslav. His business skill was enough to turn Velikiy Liubin into a popular resort. For himself, Brunytskiy constructed a magnificent palace, which you can enjoy even today.
The lately reconstructed palace in the French style looks almost like a newly built place. Meanwhile, it can boast a history of several centuries. During its history, it has experienced many cardinal reconstructions: rich owners wanted to keep up with latest fashion and keep their residence in a respectable shape. It is believed that the modern building of the palace constructed in the early 18th century stands on the ruins of an ancient castle, but during the 19th century, it was rebuilt several times. The last reconstruction, that gave the castle its present appearance, took place in 1909- 1910.
The front facade of the palace is decorated with the emblem of Barons Brunytskiy who owned Velikiy Liubin until World War II. At that period, the palace was surrounded by a regular park in the French style with fountains and flower gardens.
In 2006 – 2007, the palace was restored with financial assistance from Robert Gots, the Swiss public official. One of departments of Velikiy Liubin specialized boarding school is located in the palace premises.