The palace in Khmilnyk is a unique architectural masterpiece, appreciated by architecture experts but undeservingly forgotten by culture officials and tourists.
Now Khmilnyk is a small resort town, with a number Of health centers using radon water. In the past, it was a large Podillia town, which developed most intensively in the 15th century as a part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. The town had a strategic importance and was fortified by a strong castle, which withstood many battles. In 1659, the castle was captured by Cossacks who even arranged the residence of Ivan Vygovskiy there.
The castle in Khmilnyk was situated on a high bank of the Southern Buh and occupied a large territory. Of all castle buildings, only one defensive tower has survived. It was constructed in 1534 and reconstructed considerably much later. In 1672, Podillia was occupied by Turks and the tower was converted into a mosque. Now there is a modest but interesting local history museum, founded on a voluntary basis.
In 1915, a palace was constructed on the site of the ancient castle ruins. It belonged to the owners of Khmilnyk, Countess Kateryna Levashova, and her husband captain Kostiantyn Ksydo. The academic of architecture Ivan Fomin helped captain Ksydo to combine the elegance of palace architecture and the brutality of medieval castle. From the side facing the town, visitors see a typical facade of Classical style preceded by a semicircular colonnade. From the other side, on the steep bank of the Southern Buh, there is a large brick facade in the Romanesque style with one central and two side towers. A stone bridge, another element of the palace ensemble, takes visitors across the river and to the palace.