Berezhany Castle is the main residence of the Seniavskiy family, who were a noble Polish family, that gave the world hetmans of crown, voivodes, and court intriguers. When the male line of Seniavskiy ended (1726), their possessions were inherited by other noble families – at first by the Chartoryiskiy; after them Berezhany was given to the Liubomirskiy, and then to the Pototskiy family. Up to the 20th century, the castle was in a good condition, but it suffered much during World War II. Now Berezhany Castle is undergoing a major restoration. A hotel and a restaurant are planned to be arranged there.
Berezhany lays on the banks of the Zolota Lypa River. In 1530, a the ensign of crown (later hetman) Mykola Seniavskiy founded a town with the Magdeburg law on the site of a small village, and in 1534 he founded a castle on the river island, with this fortress becoming the principal residence of his family.
The prototype of Berezhany Castle was the main royel castle of Wawel. The castle had a pentagonal shape, and their main fortifications were massive bulwarks. The courtyard was built up around the perimeter with residential and household buildings, decorated richly in the Renaissance style. Like in Wawel, the facade of the palace had two tiers framed with the gallery and arcades. The palace halls were decorated with painting and fretworks.
The gem of Berezhany Castle is the Troyitska (Trinity) Church, which is considered to be one of the best renaissance monuments in Ukraine. It has preserved the bas-reliefs and rich moldings. In the chapels of the church there is the family tomb of the Seniavskiys. Their sarcophagi, made by famous sculptors Henry Horot and Jan Pfister, are considered to be masterpieces of portrait art. To this day the tombstone of Hanna Senyavska has survived to our days and is now on display at Olesko Castle.